Considering The Bachelor

A couple weeks ago I was listening to one of my favorite NPR podcasts, Pop Culture Happy Hour. In this particular episode they were discussing reality shows, and I pulled a quote from Linda Holmes, the show’s host, that I really like.

People get up on their big old high horses about how much they hate reality shows when they don’t know the first thing about what they’re talking about. They don’t have any idea… You’re slathering your thick coat of righteousness on what is really just your disdain for something you don’t know anything about.

The reason I really like this quote is because I was that person on my high horse looking down on your disgusting, trashy Bachelor that I knew nothing about.

My family was never Bachelor watchers. In fact, the show made a few members physically angry. Our argument stems from the “sanctity of marriage” argument. How can someone argue that gay marriage is ruining the sanctity of marriage when they watch Juan Pablo make out with 7 different girl in two hours?

But then, when I graduated college last semester jobless and clueless, loving family friends invited me into their home.  On Monday, when they flipped the Bachelor on, I sat down to watch. I find it a good rule of thumb to not slather your thick coat of righteousness on people who are feeding you.

So I started begrudgingly watching the Bachelor. And then I started liking the Bachelor. And then I found myself in philosophical conversations about which girl Juan Pablo would pick. Crap. This is what one would call “sucked in.”

And I realized this show has as much to do with love and marriage as a horror movie.  They’re just both about intense discomfort  and horrible writing. It’s like a train wreck and you just can’t look away.

This should not be read as a defense of reality shows, but more of a lesson of “don’t knock it ’til you try it.” Considering the Middle is really about thinking of something I’ve never cared to consider before.

Yes, the Bachelor is trashy and stupid. But, last Monday, after multiple crappy job interviews, when I was staring a future of “paper or plastic?” in the face, I really just wanted to watch something trashy and stupid. Don’t judge me until you’ve watched it, and I promise not to judge you for your guilty pleasure.

With that, I dismount my high horse, clean up my slathering of righteousness, get into my PJs and go watch something trashy and stupid.

One thought on “Considering The Bachelor

Leave a Reply

